ProtonMail Professional FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions)

Thank you for choosing ProtonMail as your enterprise solution. Many of these frequently asked questions are answered in our Introduction to Professional Plans. We’ll also link to relevant help articles below.

How can I log in to my users’ mailboxes to see their emails?

You can only access the mailboxes of your non-private users. If you have set a user as private, you cannot undo this and the mailbox cannot be accessed.

To access a user’s mailbox, navigate to Settings -> Addresses/Users and locate the user you would like to access. Click on the “More” button (next to the “Add Address” button) and select “Login” from the drop-down menu. You will need to enter your login password for the admin account you are currently using.

How can I change my user’s password?

You can only access and change passwords for users that are not private. To change a password or set a recovery email, navigate to Settings -> Addresses/Users and find the user you would like to access. Click on the “More” button (next to the “Add Address” button) and select “Login” from the drop-down menu.

You will need to enter your login password for the admin account you are currently using. Once you are logged in to the user’s account, the password can be changed in Settings -> Account -> “Change Password”. When you are changing your password, you will be asked again for your admin account password. Then enter the user’s new password and click on the “Save” button.

From the user’s Settings panel you can also set a new reset/notification email. Again, you will be asked to enter your admin password to make this change.

If I delete a user or users, can I assign their storage space or VPN connections to the other users or administrators?

If you delete a user you will have unallocated storage space and VPN connections. The remaining storage and VPN connections are not automatically re-allocated to the other users.

If you wish to re-allocate storage space or VPN connections, you can assign this to specific users or administrators.

Please navigate to Settings -> Addresses/Users and locate the user to whom you would like to allocate available space or connections. Then click on the “More” button (next to the “Add Address” button) and select “Edit” from the drop-down menu.

You can use the slider to increase or decrease the storages space. If you are also subscribed to a VPN plan, you can assign more VPN connections to your users.

How can I can create a user with a ProtonMail address? Or how can I add ProtonMail addresses to users’ accounts?

Unfortunately, it is not possible to create users with ProtonMail addresses, and you cannot add ProtonMail addresses to existing accounts. We are planning to create this option in the future.

It says I cannot enable multi-user support even though I am already subscribed to a Professional Plan.

The Professional Plan comes with only one user by default.


You can add more users in Settings -> Dashboard. Under Professional Plan, select the desired number of users in the drop-down menu and click on “Update Professional”.

Can I create a user with the exact custom domain email address I’m already using with my primary admin account?

It is possible to create a user with an email address you’re already using. For example, your primary account is john@protonmail.com and you send and receive mail personally using a custom domain address, john@yourbusiness.com. You may wish to create a user with john@yourbusiness.com without deleting all your old emails.

To do so, you must first disable the address in Settings -> Addresses/Users. Find the address you wish to assign to a new user and click on “Disable”. You will no longer be able to send or receive emails from this address, but your old emails will still be available in your primary mailbox (i.e. john@protonmail.com).

Then, in the same Addresses/Users tab, click on “Add User” and create the email address again for your user.

How can I add more users or addresses?

You can add more users in Settings -> Dashboard. Under Professional Plan, click on either of the two “Info” buttons. You can use the slider to increase or decrease the numbers of users.

The number of users, total storage, and the total addresses cannot be individually changed.

You can learn more about adding users here.